‘Cloud’ Learning

edo-mungan

It was started when I came home to my village in 2013. I was a teacher – English teacher – and I had taught from July 2013 to June 2016 in Senior High School (SMA) in Sejiram, Seberuang District, Kapuas Hulu Regency. In that school, I found many problems in supporting teaching process especially media teachers used. Many teachers in that school did not have laptop and the school did not have computer also. Some of them like already had it but they did not know deeply how to operate it well.

One time, when I was chosen to be an operator of that school, the Principal and I had idea to trained them together to improve teachers’ understanding about using or operating laptop and also about Ms. Office applications like Word, PowerPoint and Excel. They were very enthusiastic and because of that training, many of them applied teaching method become innovative and attractive. The students also became very interested in learning by using multimedia. Unfortunately, in that time, we only had EDGE network internet connection to find resources from the internet and people could imagine how fast it was. I had to browse the internet at midnight to find some resources in supporting my teaching because it had stable connection.

teachers-in-house-training-iht
Teachers’ In-House Training

As a teacher in Kapuas Hulu Regency, I realized that teachers’ weakness in teaching and finding good materials is far from good. From example, the basics I have as English teacher is just from my experience which is not good enough. I became a teacher also because of small number of English teacher in my region. Usually teachers used materials teachers got from a particular publisher cooperated with some schools in Kapuas Hulu Regency. Sejiram is not only far from the capital of West Kalimantan Province but also bad condition of its route that time. Those difficulties made teachers hardly find resources in teaching English.

I learn many things about teaching and learning from that school and I have to be better. So, when I have decided to continue my study, I try to improve my Information Technology (IT) comprehension especially about the internet by searching literature and many informative resources from the Internet especially for me – a learner of English as Foreign Language.

Leave a Reply

